School: Colby, Wis. High School Reunion (55th - 1943)

Contact: Crystal Wendt

----Sources: Scrap book one: by Elsa Lange Hardrath & Dorthaleen Edwards Hardrath

Contributed by Halbert "Bud" Hardrath

Colby, Wis. High School Class of 1943

Colby - Members of the Colby, Wis. High School Class of 1943 gathered at Redwood Supper Club in Unity on Aug. 8 for their 55th class reunion.

A social hour was held from 6-7 p.m. with dinner being served to 24 guests, with 16 being graduates. Silver doilies and candleholders with maroon candles (the class colors) decorated the tables.

The number 55, on a large silver doily and yellow streamers decorated the wall behind a table filled with vases of yellow long-stemmed roses. Each of the graduates received a yellow long-stemmed rose - the class flower- as they departed.

The Planning Committee included Mathilda Hollman and Lois Anderson. Master of ceremonies was Donald Wiersig. Letters were read from those who were unable to attend and a moment of silence was held for the deceased class members. They are Melvin Forss, Vera Alexander, Emery Orth, Mae Yelke, John Arends, Brice Bender and Philip Peterson.

Prizes were awarded to Gerald Kobs, coming the farthest; Donald Wiersig, first reply; Irene Awe, closest birthday to this day; and Rita Walsh married the least years.

It was voted to have another class reunion in five years with Mathilda and Lois again doing the planning.

Those attending were: Gerald Kobs, Los Angeles, Calif.; Donald and Bonnie Wiersig, Bryan, Texas; Arland Elstrom, Keithsburg, Ill.; Walter Schuh, Milwaukee; Jane Baumgart, Donald and Joyce Stieber, all of Wausau; Arthur and Joan Brehm, Beaver Dam; Ralph and Mary Zettel, Sturgeon Bay; Donald and Nancy Forss, Ellsworth; Royal and Irene Awe, and Armin and Rita Walsh, all of Marshfield; Mathilda Hollman, Ray and Lois Anderson, Eugene Strathman, all of Abbotsford; and Robert Ballerstien, Colby.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel